Winnipeg Access Advisory Committee

Committee Members

  • Councillor Ross Eadie
  • Chris Sobkowicz
  • Devi Sharma
    Council Representative
  • Judy Redmond
    City of Winnepeg Universal Design Coordinator
  • Colleen Watters
  • Barbara Mah
  • Debbie Van Ettinger
  • Doug Gordon
  • Elizabeth Mitchell
  • Gail MacAulay
  • Judy Herscovitch
  • Kenneth Shachtay
  • Susan Abbott
  • Angela Mayen-Obregon
  • Tim Johnson

Committee Mandate

  • Advise the Mayor and Council on present and future status of the City of Winnipeg's information, properties, and services accessible for persons with disabilities to the benefit of all citizens.
  • Review and monitor all accessibility as they pertain to the City of Winnipeg's properties.
  • Advise and make recommendations to City Council regarding unresolved accessibility issues related to City properties.
  • Communicate with the citizens of Winnipeg about their concerns as they relate to public access of City properties.
  • Inform all citizens of initiatives of the City as well as accomplishments and achievements with respect to access and universal design.
  • Educate all City departments about access issues as they relate to employment and public access.
  • Identify projects which encourage enthusiasm and involvement of the community, government and business in making Winnipeg universally accessible.